Rosemary Shortcrust Crackers – Or How I Made the Most Out of My Complete Inability to Make Shortcrust

IMG_6448a

Hey, Internet. It’s been a while. I’ve been busy, so have you…But I’m back now.

To business, shall we?

I. Can’t. Make. Shortcrust….Apparently. I’ve made it before, and it worked fine. But I forgot the cardinal rule: when rolling it out, flour lightly.

IMG_6438a

OK, let’s take a step back for a minute. Shortcrust pastry, for those who don’t know, is supposed to be just about the easiest, no fuss pie/tart/quiche crust. LIES.

I have a great recipe for both savory and sweet shortcrust pastries, and I made the sweet one because I originally intended to use it to try to make slice-and-bake cookies. After it had been in the fridge for half an hour, I took it out and let it rest for about 20 minutes. It seemed ready to roll (see what I did there? 🙂 ) so I got to work rolling it out like most of the dough I make: with lots of flour so it doesn’t even think about sticking to anything. Slowly but surely, the dough became a crumbly, ugly mess. I could only roll it out in tiny, fist-sized sections.

And so, an idea was born. I took a small cookie cutter and got to work, one tiny section of dough at a time.

The moral of this story? When life hands you lemons, make crackers. Yeah, I think that’s how it goes.

IMG_6472a

Rosemary Shortcrust Crackers

Makes about 70 small crackers

Adapted from Cooking Channel

[Note: Though I did use the sweet short pastry recipe from the website, I would suggest using their savory one so that the crackers don’t turn out sweet. The following recipe is for the savory pastry.]

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 cup + 1 tbsp cake flour [For those of us that don’t keep cake flour at home, like me, just sift the all-purpose flour 3 times and you’re good to go.]

9 tbsp cold butter, cubed

2 egg yolks + 1 egg for brushing on top later

Large pinch of salt + more salt for later

1 to 4 tbsp of water, if needed

Crushed rosemary

Put the flour and butter in a food processor and blitz to bread crumbs. If using your hands, rub the butter and flour together until the mixture resembles fine bread crumbs. Add the egg yolks  and a pinch of salt and stir together with a knife. Squidge the mixture together into a ball. If the pastry feels very dry add the water, but try and get by without for a more tender pastry.
Once the pastry is all squidged together, pop it in the refrigerator to rest for 30 minutes.
After 30 minutes, remove it from the refrigerator and let it warm up a little (if you use it straight from the refrigerator and try to roll it out, the pastry will just be a hopeless crumbly mess).

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Roll the pastry out on a lightly floured board to medium thickness, not too thin or thick. Use a small cookie cutter to cut the dough. Place crackers on parchment-lined cookie sheet. Brush with egg on top, then sprinkle with salt and crushed rosemary on top of each cracker.

Bake for about 20 minutes, or until golden.

IMG_6487a

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Rosemary Shortcrust Crackers – Or How I Made the Most Out of My Complete Inability to Make Shortcrust

Leave a Reply

