Happy (Late) Pi Day! – Strawberry Pie

So, I know it’s not Pi Day. But it was…two days ago. And I didn’t have time to make any pie on the actual day, so I postponed it to yesterday. The actual writing of this post was then pushed to today because I made it last night. Aaand now you’re all caught up.

IMG_3339

I had never actually made a fruit pie before, but I have always wanted to make a strawberry pie. Strawberries just handle baking very well, I think. Raspberries, too. Maybe it’s a red-fruit-only club. Extremely exclusive, you’ve probably never heard of it.

IMG_3297

I’ve decided to become observant of Pi Day. Not for mathematical reasons at all. I just figure: why should I pass up an excuse to make/eat pie, right?

IMG_3397a

I found this recipe for a beautiful strawberry rhubarb pie. I’ve never worked with rhubarb, but I know that it adds tartness. Should be good to try one day.

And so, with no rhubarb and two pounds of strawberries on hand, I set off. After washing the strawberries, I hulled them using a little trick I learned (which you can find here) that lets you easily take the stems off by poking the bottom with a straw. It’s easy, quick, and probably more fun than it was intended to be. Once you’re done hulling, slice the strawberries in half or in quarters, depending on how big they are.

IMG_3292

The crust is really something else. Flaky, buttery and surprisingly easy to work with. I expected a pie crust to fight with me, but I guess that’s not how it is.

IMG_3316

Which brings me to my next point: I made my very first lattice yesterday. Before I started, I looked at this step-by-step guide, which helped me a lot. I know the lattice isn’t perfect, but to be honest, nobody actually cares once they get a warm slice of strawberry heaven in front of them.

I had to make this in a springform pan because I have no pie pan of which to speak. It’s probably not ideal for pie crust, because I had to patch it up a bit on the sides to make it around the same height.

IMG_3328a

I still had some dough left over, so I used a small cookie cutter to make shapes and stuck them on top.

3304_3321 copy

After you’ve done that, you’ll need to brush one egg on top, along with some sugar.

IMG_3351

Here’s the original recipe:

The only change I made was that I added more strawberries in place of the rhubarb.

IMG_3336

Enjoy!

What’s your favorite type of pie?

2 thoughts on “Happy (Late) Pi Day! – Strawberry Pie

Leave a Reply

